What if the Accident is My Fault and I’m Hurt?
Dealing with injuries after a car accident is difficult, especially if you believe that the crash was your fault. You probably have many questions, including whether you can still receive compensation for the medical bills and other losses that you have incurred.
Fortunately, Hawaii is a no-fault auto insurance state, which means you can likely still claim benefits to help with medical expenses, lost income, and other damages related to your accident.
After a crash, it is important to review your insurance policy so you know what types of compensation you are entitled to. At Recovery Law Center, a Honolulu car accident attorney can help you understand what no-fault benefits are available and hold your insurance company accountable for paying the full amount you are owed.
It’s critical to talk to a Hawaii car accident lawyer for another reason. Despite what you think, it’s still possible that the crash is not entirely your fault.
In Hawaii, you may be able to seek compensation from a responsible party outside of your no-fault policy if your injuries meet certain legal thresholds. If you’ve been seriously hurt, having Attorney Glenn Honda investigate the accident can ensure that you receive compensation from all possible sources.
More questions? Call or contact us now for a free consultation.
Can I Claim Compensation if I Am Injured After an Accident I Caused?
Hawaii is one of the few states in the country that follows a no-fault auto insurance system. That means you can be compensated for injuries after a car accident, even if you are to blame.
Personal injury protection (PIP) is required in Hawaii with a minimum limit of $10,000 per person. PIP benefits can provide coverage for expenses such as ambulance bills, emergency room costs, prescriptions, lost wages, and transportation to and from medical appointments.
Keep in mind that if you were especially reckless at the time of the crash, such as driving drunk, the insurance company may deny PIP benefits to you.
I Caused the Accident and I Am Injured — Now What?
If you’ve been hurt in an accident in Hawaii, the most important thing to do is seek immediate medical treatment. Your personal health is the top priority. Getting prompt treatment also protects your legal rights when it comes time to file an insurance claim.
Any car accident resulting in a death, injury, or property damage exceeding $3,000 must also be reported to law enforcement in Hawaii within 24 hours. Do not admit fault to anyone, even if you feel you are responsible for the accident.
In addition, you should gather the names, contact information, and insurance information from everyone involved in the crash. PIP benefits can be paid to anyone injured in your vehicle (either as driver or passenger), as well as any pedestrians, moped operators, and bicyclists who may have been involved in the collision.
You will also need to notify your insurance company of the wreck. But first, ask a Honolulu car accident attorney at Recovery Law Center to review your case. Our legal team can handle all aspects of the claims process for you and investigate whether you have an additional personal injury case beyond your no-fault claim.